Connacht Ulster Alliance welcomes the Technological Universities Bill

Wednesday, January 22, 2014 Press Office
Press Release

The Connacht-Ulster Alliance (CUA) welcomes the Technological Universities Bill published by the Minster for Education & Skills today (Wednesday 22 January 2014). The bill paves the way for the establishment of Technological Universities.

The CUA was set up in 2012 for the declared purpose of “forming the nucleus of a Technological University and working together to achieve the required criteria”. The formation and objectives were welcomed by the Taoiseach.

The Presidents of the three colleges, Michael Carmody of Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology (GMIT), Paul Hannigan, Letterkenny Institute of Technology (LyIT) and Prof Terri Scott, Institute of Technology Sligo (IT Sligo), confirmed that a merger of the three institutes will only be considered in the context of achieving Technological University designation.