GMIT to confer Honorary Fellowships on seven individuals in Irish life

Friday, August 23, 2013 Press Office
Press Release

Inaugural Fellowships mark GMIT's 40th anniversary

Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology (GMIT) is to honour seven outstanding individuals with Honorary Fellowships at a special GMIT conferring ceremony later this month (May).

The GMIT Honorary Fellowships will be conferred in the g Hotel, Galway City, on Friday 24 May, commencing 2.30pm. Some 200 invited guests are expected to attend the event.

The inaugural GMIT Fellowships will be conferred on the President of Ireland, Michael D Higgins, in recognition of his service to public life, award-winning businessman Dr Bernard Collins for his vast contribution to industry, Theologian Reverend Professor Enda McDonagh for his contribution to Education, GAA sportsman, All-Star and All Ireland medal winner Pádraic Joyce for his contribution to Sport, actor and co-founder of The Druid Theatre Marie Mullen for her work in the Arts, archaeologist Dr Seamus Caulfield for his contribution to Irish history and Community, and milliner/designer Philip Treacy for his contribution to Business.

Announcing the inaugural Fellowships, the President of GMIT Michael Carmody says: “This is the first time in the 40 year history of the Institute the Governing Body of GMIT has decided to award honorary fellowships. The fellowships are intended to recognise publicly the contribution each of the recipients has made in their chosen field and the ceremony on the 24 May will be an occasion to celebrate their achievements.”

GMIT celebrates its 40th anniversary this academic year (2012/13). RTC Galway opened its doors on Monday 18 September, 1972, with 1,213 students on campus. Today, GMIT has almost 8,000 full and part-time students in five campuses across Galway and Mayo with graduates working all over the world in a range of disciplines. Read more about GMIT’s history: