Self Assessment Team

Members of the GMIT Self-Assessment Team for Athena SWAN

Mr Aaron Burke (Students' Union President 2019-2020) / Mr Victor O'Loughlin (Students' Union President 2020-2021)

Ms Valerie Butler (Department of Science & Computing)

Dr Sean Duignan (Head of Department, Computer Science & Applied Physics)

Ms Marie Finnegan Business (School of Business)

Mr Jim Fennell (Vice President, Finance & Corporate Services)

Dr Cormac Flynn (Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering)

Dr Orla Flynn (President, GMIT)

Ms Maura Gilligan (Department of Human Resources)

Professor Graham Heaslip (Head of School of Business)

Ms Deirdre Henry (Department of Human Resources)

Mr Garrett Jordan (Software Developer, School of Science and Computing)

Dr Nireeksha Karode (Research Engineer, Medical and Engineering Technologies (MET))

Dr Heather Lally (Department of Natural Sciences)

Ms Renagh Linnane (Student Counsellor, Student Services)

Ms Deirdre Lusby (Head of Department of Business & Accounting)

Dr Eugene McCarthy (Head of Department, Biopharmaceutical & Medical Science)

Dr Mark McCarthy (Programme Chair in Heritage Studies, Department of Heritage and Tourism, Galway International Hotel School)

Mr Tony McDonogh (Human Resource Manager)

Ms Marion McEnroy-Higgins (Center for Creative Arts and Media, Galway)

Mr Barry McMillan (Heritage & Tourism, Humanities, Applied Languages & Communications)

Ms Hilary Molloy (Procurement Officer and Purchasing & Payments Manager)

Dr Andrea Moloney (School of Business)

Dr Seamus Morrisey (ATS Co-ordinator)

Dr John Mulloy (Center for Creative Arts and Media, Mayo)

Ms Mary Nestor (Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Manager - Chair)

Ms Cait Noone (Vice President for International Engagement & Head of Galway International Hotel School)

Mr Diarmuid Ó Conghaile (Head of Department of Heritage & Tourism, Humanities, Applied Languages & Communications)

Ms Edel O'Connor (Finance Manager)

Dr Rick Officer (Vice President for Research & Innovation)

Mr Cathal Shanagher (Postgraduate Research Student, GMIT)

Dr Amaya Vega (School of Business)

Ms Sharon Walker (School of Business)

Terms of Reference for the Self-Assessment Team


  • To analyse and benchmark relevant institutional data on gender equality and intersectionality across the Institute.

  • To engage and consult with staff and students on equality diversity and inclusion across the Institution – developing and analysing the data from an all staff survey which would address areas including gender and/or equality issues, work–life balance arrangements or caring responsibilities.

  • To identify key gender equality issues/challenges faced by the Institute and propose an Athena SWAN action plan to address issues identified, taking into account issues and areas of intersectionality.

  • To support the process of preparation of the institutional Athena SWAN Bronze award.

  • To measure and demonstrate the impact of previous/ongoing gender equality activity across the Institute.

  • To act as 'champions' for the Athena SWAN project in their department/area/campus, raising awareness, inspiring engagement of staff and students, attending events and encouraging active participation in the principles of the Athena SWAN Charter.