GMIT School of Science and Computing lab2

School of Science and Computing

A broad range of courses with a strong emphasis on practical skills.

ATU's School of Science and Computing offers a broad range of undergraduate degree programmes, and is comprised of four departments.

  • Biopharmaceutical & Medical Science

  • Computer Science & Applied Physics

  • Natural Sciences and the Environment

  • Sport, Exercise & Nutrition

We place a strong emphasis on active investigation, giving students the opportunity to acquire research skills through practical projects and work placements.

This style of learning helps in developing graduate skills and attributes that are attractive to employers. 

Computing lab at GMIT School of Science and Computing

Studying Science at ATU

Departments in the School of Science & Computing
Computing students with lecturer at GMIT Galway campus

Student Work Placements

Are you interested in taking an ATU science student on work placement?

School of Science and Computing
Head of School
Dr Des Foley

Department of Biopharmaceutical & Medical Science
Head of Department
Dr Eugene McCarthy

Department of Computer Science & Applied Physics
Head of Department
Dr Sean Duignan

Department of Natural Resources & The Environment
Head of Department
Dr Seamus Lennon

Department of Sport, Exercise & Nutrition
Head of Department
Dr Lisa Ryan

School Administration
Martina Linnane
+353 (0)91 742178

Eileen O’Hara
+353 (0)91 742274