Executive Board

The Institute's Executive Board, led by the President, comprises the senior management team of the Institute. Its fundamental role is to monitor and implement Institute strategy and to ensure the effective management of the Institute. Its focus is on strategic rather than operational issues.

Executive Board Membership

*Note: these details relate to Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology (GMIT). GMIT merged with LYIT and IT Sligo on 1st April, 2022 to form Atlantic Technological University (ATU). Please refer to www.atu.ie for further details.

Dr Orla Flynn

Dr Michael Hannon
Vice President for Academic Affairs & Registrar

Mr Jim Fennell
Vice President for Finance & Corporate Services

Dr Rick Officer
Vice President for Research and Innovation

Prof Graham Heaslip
Head of School of Engineering

Ms Cáit Noone
Vice President International Engagement
Head of Galway International Hotel School

Dr Des Foley
Head of School of Science and Computing

Mr George Onofrei
Head of School of Business

Dr Patrick Tobin
Head of School, School of Design and Creative Arts

Mr Justin Kerr
Vice President of Mayo Campus 
Head of School Health and Science, Wellbeing & Society

Dr Lisa Ryan
Head of Department of Sport, Exercise and Nutrition
Representative Chair of Management Group